13 candidates are vying for two congressional seats to represent Valley | News, Sports, Jobs

Thirteen candidates, including incumbent U.S. Representatives Bill Johnson and Dave Joyce, are among those who filed in the two congressional districts that include the Mahoning Valley.

The Ohio Redistricting Commission approved the new congressional district lines on Wednesday, two days before Friday’s deadline for U.S. House candidates to file nomination petitions.

The district lines are still in question as the Supreme Court of Ohio must determine whether the map is constitutional.

The primary election is scheduled for May 3. County electoral boards still have to verify the validity of signatures on candidates’ petitions before certifying them for the ballot.


The commission drew a map with all of Mahoning County in a new 6th congressional district with all of Columbiana, Carroll, Jefferson, Belmont, Harrison, Monroe, Noble, and Washington counties and parts of Stark and Tuscarawas counties.

Mahoning is the most populous county in the district. Nomination petitions for the 6th District seat have been filed with the Mahoning County Board of Elections.

Johnson, R-Marietta, first elected to the U.S. House in 2010, sought re-election in the 6th.

“I know things are still somewhat in flux with the districts, but I look forward to continuing to be ‘the voice of the people of eastern and southeastern Ohio,’ no matter where the final lines go. are plotted,” Johnson said. “I will continue to work hard every day to honor and earn the trust they have placed in me, regardless of party affiliation or zip code.”

The district favors Republicans 59.06% to 40.94% for Democrats based on statewide partisan vote results over the past decade, according to commission data.

Johnson has represented parts of Mahoning County as well as most counties in the district since his election to Congress.

He had $1,260,200 in his campaign fund as of December 31, the most recent filing deadline.

Republican Michael S. Morgenstern of Poland, a first-time candidate and former Marine, has filed a request to challenge Johnson in the GOP primary.

John Anderson of Enon, which is in Clark County, west of Columbus and several miles from the 6th District, also hands out petitions as a Republican; and Gregory M. Zelenitz of Belmont.

Anderson is from Youngstown and served in the Air Force.

He ran in the 2020 Republican primary in the 10th arrondissement, closer to home, but finished a distant second with 7.9% of the vote. Anderson lost to incumbent Republican Michael Turner of Dayton, who won 86.4 percent of the vote.

Congressional candidates do not have to live in the district but must be residents of Ohio.

Zelenitz filed for a seat in Congress in 2006, but was not on the ballot.

On the Democratic side, those who filed are Louis G. Lyras of Campbell, Shawna Roberts of Belmont, Eric S. Jones of Austintown, Martin Alexander of Boardman and Michael L. Kripchak of Youngstown.

Chairman and CEO of Corcon Inc., a bridge-painting company in Lowellville, Lyras ran in 2020 as a Republican in what is now the 13th district, finishing a distant second with 11.9% of the seven vote. candidates. Lyras then endorsed U.S. Representative Tim Ryan, D-Howland, in the general election against Republican Christina Hagan of Marlboro, who won 65.8 percent of the vote in the GOP primary that year. Ryan won the general election with 8.6%.

Lyras had filed nomination petitions in 2018 as an independent candidate in the 13th District race, but failed to stand on the ballot in the general election.

Roberts was the Democratic nominee in the 6th District in 2018 and 2020. She lost to Johnson by 38.6% in 2018 and 48.8% in 2020.

Alexander filed last year in the Democratic primary for the 11th congressional district, which includes parts of Cuyahoga and Summit counties. He finished 10th out of 12 candidates in this primary with 0.1% of the vote.

Alexander said he grew up in Shaker Heights, which is in 11th, moved to Youngstown in 2010 and Boardman in 2020.

“With the redistricting, the district is shifting to the Republican paper, but that doesn’t deter me,” said Alexander, an attorney at Epiq Global.

Jones, who develops mobile apps for NLMK, and Kripchak are first-time candidates.


In the 14th District, Joyce, R-Bainbridge, is among three Republicans to run for the job. He was first elected in 2012 to the United States House.

The district includes all of Trumbull, Ashtabula, Lake and Geauga counties and all but two communities in Portage County.

Trumbull is the second most populous county in the district behind Lake. The candidates filed nomination petitions with the Lake County Board of Elections.

Joyce represented part of Trumbull as well as some or all of the other counties in the new 14th District during her tenure in Congress.

He had $1,379,197 in his campaign fund as of Dec. 31.

The district favors Republicans 54.83% to 45.17% for Democrats based on partisan voting trends, according to the redistricting commission.

The other two Republicans to file are Bevin Cormack of Chesterland and Patrick Gene Awtrey of Parma Heights.

Cormack said on her website that she is a “Bible-believing Christian mom with an exceptional understanding of global agendas and a strong discernment for tyranny.”

Awtrey works for a private equity investment firm. He resides in Cuyahoga County, which is not part of the newly drawn district.

On the Democratic side, Matt Kilboy of Deerfield, a health care consultant and former member of the Navy Nurse Corps, was the only candidate to submit nomination petitions.

Democrat Brenden Kelley, an attorney for Novelty, had been campaigning and fundraising for that race for months, but he did not file a case.

Kelley, who could not be reached this week for comment, had donated $220,750 of his own money to his campaign and raised $145,349 from donors as of December 31, the most recent date for fundraising reports. in the countryside. He had spent $139,429 on his campaign as of December 31.



Candidates who filed for the U.S. House of Representatives in the 6th District and 14th District by Friday’s deadline. Applicants must be certified. A * designates holders.


•Bill Johnson* (R)

•John Anderson (R)

•Michael Morgenstern (R)

• Gregory M. Zelenitz (R)

•Eric S. Jones (D)

• Martin Alexander (D)

•Louis G. Lyras (D)

• Michael L. Kripchak (D)

• Shawna Roberts (D)


•Dave Joyce* (R)

•Bevin Cormack (R)

•Patrick Gene Awtrey (R)

• Matt Kilboy (D)

[email protected]

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox